all the things

International Women’s Day

Apparently today is International Women’s Day. I discovered this through social media and wondering why there were all of these pictures, etc. dedicated to empowering women. But the most helpful word that I read appeared on MamaWatters Instagram account (blog: homesong.com). She said the following:

“I want her to know that it’s okay if she wants to put on a glass slipper and that she doesn’t have to shatter a glass ceiling in order to be more of a woman. But hey, if that’s where life takes her and that’s the way she wants to speak her truth then “You go girl!” mama will support you. She doesn’t have to get behind a podium or a poster nor does she have to rise up with big words or boldness or anything for that matter to prove herself. She can be a hell raiser or not. She can choose a quiet life and a mundane path over a loud or busy one. She can run a company or work for one or sweep her floors or raise her babies at home. She can write a best seller or scribble out a dozen bombs. She can move mountains with the art she makes, the words she sings, and the poems she writes. She can underwhelm. She can bounce from job to job striving to make enough to provide for herself and her family or she can work for herself as her own boss and do her best to figure out the balancing act that requires. I want her to know that she can achieve all the awards and she can fail a thousand times, and that although the latter is far more realistic and humbling, both make her no more than a woman than she was the day her daddy and I laid eyes on her in the NICU and named her Stella. I want her to know that she doesn’t have to have children, but if she has them, they don’t have to come from her womb, nor do they have to nurse from her breast to make her any more woman than she already is. She can adopt, she can formula feed, she can let her babies sleep in her bed or in a crib or do whatever she feels is best because what makes her more of a woman, or mother for that matter, is none of those things.

The point is she can choose and that her path does not make her more of a woman. As her mother, I want her to know within the marrow of her soul that she is loved and wanted and worthy and those are the matters of substance.” 

This. This is what my heart craved as a child. As a woman. Now. I couldn’t help but feel as if I had failed when I choose to stay at home with my daughter. I couldn’t help but feel the disappointment of my own mother, who wished for me to be “so much more.” I couldn’t help but feel as if I just wasted my higher education.

And this. This is what I want for my daughter. That she experiences the freedom to choose whatever her heart desires, wherever God calls her. And I pray, oh do I pray, that I will not ever stifle that within her.

It truly isn’t about breaking the glass ceiling. It is about empowering women where they are and removing unnecessary pressures and guilt. It is about women being women. It is about being children of God.

Leave a Reply

